Civil Service Commission

To provide the City of Glen Cove, the Glen Cove School District, the Glen Cove Library and the Glen Cove Housing Authority with a system for selection of new employees based on the relative merit and fitness of the applicants which gives due preference to promotion from within.

Commissioners

The Civil Service Commission is composed of three Commissioners who are appointed by the Mayor. Each Commissioner serves a six year term. The three terms are staggered so that a Commissioner is appointed every two years.

Commission Member

Phyllis O. Burnett

Commission Member

Patrick J. Hall

Commission Member

Carolyn D. Willson

Secretary to the Commission

DSC_0142

John Charon

Civil Service Examinations

The Civil Service Commission conducts examinations for public sector positions with the following employers: the City of Glen Cove, the Glen Cove School District, the Glen Cove Library and the Glen Cove Housing Authority.

Click here to view the listing of Civil Service exams on the Personnel Department webpage.

Local Rules

The Commission has the responsibility to administer and enforce the New York State Civil Service Law. The Commission also prescribes, administers, and amends the Local Civil Service Rules as it sees fit. The Local Rules have the force and effect of law.

Meetings

The Commission holds regular meetings on the third Tuesday of every month at 3:30 PM unless an alternate time is listed below. Special Meetings and/or Public Hearings are scheduled as needed.  In person meetings have resumed and are held in the first floor conference room.

Schedule of Monthly Commission Meetings

Tuesday, January 16, 2024

Tuesday, February 20, 2024

Tuesday, March 19, 2024

Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Tuesday, May 21, 2024

Tuesday, June 18, 2024

Tuesday, July 16, 2024

Tuesday, August 20, 2024

Tuesday, September 17, 2024

Tuesday, October 15, 2024

Tuesday, November 19, 2024

Tuesday, December 17, 2024

Our Location

The Glen Cove Personnel Office is located in City Hall at 9 Glen Street on the second floor. Office hours are Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm. Applications and examination postings are available online on the Personnel Department webpage.

Civil Service Commission

Glen Cove City Hall
9 Glen St., 2nd Floor – Room 205

Phone: (516) 676-4814
Email: [email protected]